

Sturgeon County Meeting Minutes Committee of the Whole

January 11, 2022, 2:00 p.m. Through Electronic Communications

Members Present: Mayor Alanna Hnatiw

Dan Derouin, Councillor - Division 1 Kristin Toms, Councillor - Division 2

Matthew McLennan, Councillor - Division 3

Neal Comeau, Councillor - Division 4 Deanna Stang, Councillor - Division 5 Jason Berry, Councillor - Division 6

Administration Present: Reegan McCullough, County Commissioner - CAO

Scott MacDougall, Chief Operating Officer - COO

Jesse Sopko, Director, Corporate Services

Travis Peter, Director, Development and Strategic Services

Andrew Hayes, Director, Finance, Assessment & Procurement Services Michael Richard, Acting Manager, Economic Development Services

Lisa Schovanek, Legislative Officer, Legislative Services
Dianne Mason, Legislative Officer, Legislative Services
Charlene Cyr, Access & Privacy Officer, Legislative Services

1. CALL TO ORDER AND RELATED BUSINESS

1.1 CALL TO ORDER

Mayor Hnatiw called the January 11, 2022 Committee of the Whole Meeting to order at 2:14 p.m.

1.2 ADOPTION OF AGENDA

Motion 001/22:

Moved by: N. Comeau

That the Committee adopt the January 11, 2022 Committee of the Whole Meeting Agenda as presented.

Carried Unanimously

1.3 ADOPTION OF MINUTES

1.3.1 December 14, 2021 Committee of the Whole Meeting Minutes

Motion 002/22:

Moved by: K. Toms

That the Committee adopt the December 14, 2021 Committee of the Whole Meeting Minutes as presented.

Carried Unanimously

2. BUSINESS

2.1 2:00 p.m. TC Energy and Pembina Pipeline Corporation – Alberta Carbon Grid Presentation

Presented by: Justin Smith, Manager of Government Relations & Community Engagement, Pembina Pipeline Corporation; Josh Pentland, Lead, ACG Provincial and Community Relations; and Riley Baldwin, Manager, Canada Gas Unregulated BD and Ventures, TC Energy.

Motion 003/22:

Moved by: K. Toms

That the Committee accept the January 11, 2022 Alberta Carbon Grid presentation as information.

Carried Unanimously

Motion	004	/22:
--------	-----	------

Moved by: K. Toms

That the Committee recommend that Council authorize the Mayor to provide a support letter to TC Energy and Pembina Pipeline Corporation for carbon capture utilization and storage projects within Sturgeon County and Alberta's Industrial Heartland.

Carried Unanimously

4. ADJOURNMENT

Motion 005/22:

Moved by: J. Berry

That Council adjourn the January 11, 2022 Committee of the Whole Meeting at 2:51 p.m.

Carried Unanimously
Mayor
County Commissioner (CAO)