

Regular Council Meeting Minutes

June 22, 2023, 5:30 p.m.

Council Chambers and Through Electronic Communications

Sturgeon County Centre

9613-100 Street

Morinville, Alberta

Members Present: Mayor Alanna Hnatiw

Dan Derouin, Councillor - Division 1 Kristin Toms, Councillor - Division 2

Matthew McLennan, Councillor - Division 3

Neal Comeau, Councillor - Division 4 Deanna Stang, Councillor - Division 5 Jason Berry, Councillor - Division 6

Administration Present: Reegan McCullough, County Commissioner - CAO

Scott MacDougall, Chief Operating Officer - COO Jesse Sopko, General Manager, Corporate Services

Travis Peter, General Manager, Development & Strategic Services

Bonnie McInnis, Manager, Planning & Development Services

Jackie Sargent, Manager, Corporate Communications

Tyler McNab, Program Lead, Development & Safety Codes

Stephen Chipchase, Development Compliance Officer

Dianne Mason, Legislative Officer Melodie Steele, Legislative Officer

1. CALL TO ORDER AND RELATED BUSINESS

1.1 CALL TO ORDER

Mayor Hnatiw called the June 22, 2023 Regular Council Meeting to order at 5:30 p.m. and acknowledged that Council meets on Treaty 6 territory, the traditional homelands of Alexander and Michel First Nations, as well as the Métis Nation of Alberta's Region 4.

We are all Treaty People; we love and cherish this place we call home and the land that provides for us. A place where our families, friends, and other relations live and grow. We commit ourselves to continually becoming better Treaty people so that this place and those we love continue to thrive as long as the sun shines, the grass grows, and the rivers flow.

1.2 ADOPTION OF AGENDA

Motion 229/23

Moved by D. Stang

That Council adopt the June 22, 2023 Regular Council Meeting Agenda as presented.

Carried Unanimously

2. PUBLIC HEARINGS

2.1 5:30 p.m. Bylaw 1607/22 – Resource Extraction Amendments to Land Use Bylaw 1385/17

Mayor Hnatiw opened the Public Hearing at 5:31 p.m. and provided an overview of the Public Hearing process.

The Public Hearing was held to hear any submissions for or against Bylaw 1607/22 – Resource Extraction Amendments to Land Use Bylaw 1385/17.

Bylaw 1607/22 received first reading at the January 24, 2023 Regular Council Meeting and second reading at the May 23, 2023 Regular Council Meeting.

Bonnie McInnis, Manager, Planning & Development Services provided an overview of Bylaw 1607/22.

The County is the applicant for this matter.

Phil Soetaert spoke in favour of Bylaw 1607/22.

The following individuals spoke in opposition to Bylaw 1607/22:

- Kirsty Stewart;
- Anita Power;
- Janice Nolte;
- Tim Cholewa;
- Sid Chadi;
- Jerry Madro; and
- Laura Cline, Sil Industrial Minerals.

Councillor Stang left the meeting at 6:22 p.m.

Councillor Stang returned to the meeting at 6:22 p.m.

Councillor Derouin left the meeting at 6:30 p.m.

Councillor Derouin returned to the meeting at 6:31 p.m.

The following individuals spoke at the Public Hearing but did not identify if they were in favour of or opposed to Bylaw 1607/22:

- Marc Therrien; and
- Shannon Cory.

No submissions were received in favour of Bylaw 1607/22.

Written submissions were received from the following individuals in opposition to Bylaw 1607/22:

- Fern Mulyk;
- Sid Chadi;
- Vivianne Pambrun;
- Pam Tidsbury and Brian McBride;
- Rick and Beverley Reid;
- Neil Yakimets;
- Rose Domshy;
- Curt Klassen;
- Heidelberg Materials;
- Colleen Grant and June Van Brabant;
- Sil Industrial Minerals;
- Janice Nolte;
- Carol Shaw;
- John and Sandy Stevenson;
- John Zaffino;
- John and Albina Pratt;
- Miles Court and Doreen Pedley;
- Sherril Cholewa;
- Wally Benjamin Clarke;

	• Carles Casuattes
	Carlee Caouette;
	Dave and Melissa Hobson;
	 Raymond and Sharon Dragon;
	 Warren Lusk and Susan Gillespie-Lusk;
	David Wayne Carter;
	Jessica Bussemakers;
	Caesar Diogo and Fiona Henderson;
	Bryce Wooley;
	Darcy and Melissa McCutcheon;
	Jerry and Sheree Madro;
	Gabrielle Madro;
	Candace Stoppa;
	Patricia Pelrine;
	Tim Cholewa; and
	Jan and Leanne Cosby.
	Mayor Hnatiw closed the Public Hearing at 6:54 p.m.
3.	ADJOURNMENT
	Motion 230/23 Moved by D. Derouin
	That Council adjourn the June 22, 2023 Regular Council Meeting at 6:55 p.m.
	Carried Unanimously
	Mayor

County Commissioner (CAO)