

Regular Council Meeting Minutes

March 15, 2023, 5:30 p.m. Council Chambers and Through Electronic Communications Sturgeon County Centre 9613-100 Street, Morinville, Alberta

Members Present:	Mayor Alanna Hnatiw Dan Derouin, Councillor - Division 1 Kristin Toms, Councillor - Division 2 Matthew McLennan, Councillor - Division 3 Neal Comeau, Councillor - Division 4 Deanna Stang, Councillor - Division 5 Jason Berry, Councillor - Division 6
Administration Present:	Reegan McCullough, County Commissioner - CAO Scott MacDougall, Chief Operating Officer - COO Jesse Sopko, General Manager, Corporate Services Travis Peter, General Manager, Development & Strategic Services Bonnie McInnis, Manager, Planning & Development Services Jackie Sargent, Manager, Corporate Communications Arjen de Klerk, Program Lead, Land Management Tyler McNab, Program Lead, Development & Safety Codes Yvonne Bilodeau, Development Officer Charlene Cyr, Access & Privacy Officer Dianne Mason, Legislative Officer Melodie Steele, Legislative Officer

1. CALL TO ORDER AND RELATED BUSINESS

1.1 CALL TO ORDER

Mayor Hnatiw called the March 15, 2023 Regular Council Meeting to order at 5:34 p.m. and acknowledged that Council meets on Treaty 6 territory, the traditional homelands of Alexander and Michel First Nations, as well as the Métis Nation of Alberta's Region 4.

We are all Treaty People; we love and cherish this place we call home and the land that provides for us. A place where our families, friends, and other relations live and grow. We commit ourselves to continually becoming better Treaty people so that this place and those we love continue to thrive as long as the sun shines, the grass grows, and the rivers flow.

1.2 ADOPTION OF AGENDA

Motion 083/23

Moved by N. Comeau That Council adopt the March 15, 2023 Regular Council Meeting Agenda as presented.

Carried Unanimously

2. CONSENT AGENDA

There were no consent agenda items.

3. ADOPTION OF MINUTES

There was no adoption of minutes.

4. PUBLIC PRESENTATIONS

There were no public presentations.

5. PUBLIC HEARINGS

5.1 5:30 p.m. Public Hearing - Bylaw 1607/22 - Amendment to Land Use Bylaw 1385/17 -Resource Extraction Regulatory Review Proposed Amendments

Mayor Hnatiw opened the Public Hearing at 5:36 p.m. and provided an overview of the Public Hearing process.

The Public Hearing was held to hear any submissions for or against Bylaw 1607/22 - Resource Extraction Amendments to Land Use Bylaw 1385/17.

Bylaw 1607/22 received first reading at the January 24, 2023 Regular Council Meeting.

The County is the Applicant for this matter.

Bonnie McInnis, Manager; Arjen de Klerk, Program Lead, Land Management; Tyler McNab, Program Lead, Development & Safety Codes; and Yvonne Bilodeau, Development Officer, Planning & Development Services provided an overview of Bylaw 1607/22.

Councillor Derouin left the meeting at 5:43 p.m.

Councillor Derouin returned to the meeting at 5:44 p.m.

Council heard from registered speakers.

The meeting was recessed at 6:42 p.m.

The meeting was reconvened at 6:48 p.m. with all those members of Council previously listed in attendance.

Council continued to hear from registered speakers.

The following individuals spoke in favour of Bylaw 1607/22:

• Rakesh Mehra

The following individuals spoke in opposition to Bylaw 1607/22:

- Hinke Therrien
- Louis Belanger

The following individuals spoke at the Public Hearing but did not identify if they were in favour of or opposed to Bylaw 1607/22:

- Shannon Cory
- Tim Cholewa
- Janice Nolte
- June Van Brabant
- Emily Gilbart
- Lyle Quintal
- Ray Soetaert

Written submissions were received after the publication of the Council Agenda from the following individuals in opposition of Bylaw 1607/22:

• Louis Belanger

Written submissions were received after the publication of the Council Agenda from the following individuals who did not identify if they were in favour of or opposed to Bylaw 1607/22:

- Tim Cholewa
- Kristy Stewart

Mayor Hnatiw closed the Public Hearing at 7:23 p.m.

The meeting was recessed at 7:23 p.m.

The meeting was reconvened at 7:30 p.m. with all those members of Council previously listed in attendance.

5.2 5:30 p.m. Public Hearing - Bylaw 1608/22 - Repeal of the Calahoo-Villeneuve Sand and Gravel Extraction Area Structure Plan Bylaw 922/01

Mayor Hnatiw opened the public hearing at 7:31 p.m. and provided an overview of the Public Hearing process.

The Public Hearing was held to hear any submissions for or against Bylaw 1608/22 - Repeal of the Calahoo-Villeneuve Sand and Gravel Extraction Area Structure Plan Bylaw 922/01.

Bylaw 1608/22 received first reading at the January 24, 2023 Regular Council Meeting.

The County is the Applicant for this matter.

Bonnie McInnis, Manager; Arjen de Klerk, Program Lead, Land Management; Tyler McNab, Program Lead, Development & Safety Codes; and Yvonne Bilodeau, Development Officer, Planning & Development Services provided an overview of Bylaw 1608/22.

The following individuals spoke in favour of Bylaw 1608/22:

- Shannon Cory
- Lyle Quintal
- Ray Soetaert

The following individual spoke but did not identify if they were in favour of or in opposition to Bylaw 1608/22:

• Emily Gilbart

Legislative Services confirmed there were no written submissions received after publication of the Council Agenda.

Mayor Hnatiw closed the Public Hearing at 8:01 p.m.

6. BUSINESS

There were no business items.

7. CLOSED SESSION

There were no closed session items.

8. MAYOR AND COUNCIL

There were no Mayor and Council items.

9. NOTICES OF MOTION

There were no notices of motion.

10. ADJOURNMENT

Motion 085/23

Moved by N. Comeau

That Council adjourn the March 15, 2023 Regular Council Meeting at 8:02 p.m.

Carried Unanimously

Mayor

County Commissioner (CAO)